Zelda: Breath Of The Wild Takes Home Second Game Of The Year Award



As the Tokyo Game Show comes to a close, the awards for 2017 Japan Game awards are here and guess which Switch exclusive took home gold? Zelda: Breath of the Wild gave Nintendo it’s second grand award right after Splatoon (back in 2016) but other games also got the limelight for some relatively impressive time (Pokemon Go, Inside and City Shrouded in Shadow).

The Tokyo Game Show featured three different divisions (Game of the Year Division, Amateur Division, Future Division) this year and two awards (2017 Game Designers Award, and the Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry Award). The CESA (Computer Entertainment Supplier’s Association) selects all the awards except the Future Division. The Future Division was decided by the attendees at the Tokyo Game Show. These are the games that were awarded:

Game of the Year Division

  • Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild – Grand Award, Award for Excellence
  • Resident Evil 7: Biohazard – Award for Excellence
  • Final Fantasy XV – Award for Excellence
  • Horizon Zero Dawn – Award for Excellence
  • Monster Hunter XX: Double Cross – Award for Excellence
  • NieR: Automata – Award for Excellence
  • Nioh – Award for Excellence
  • Overwatch – Award for Excellence
  • Persona 5 – Award for Excellence
  • Pokemon Sun and Pokemon Moon – Award for Excellence, Best Sales Award, Global Award Japanese Product
  • The Last Guardian – Award for Excellence
  • PlayStation VR – Special Award
  • FIFA 17 – Global Award Foreign Product

Amateur Division

  • Trace Paper, ECC College of Computer and Multimedia – Grand Award, Award for Excellence
  • Ultimate Selfy, ECC College of Computer and Multimedia – Award for Excellence, Individual Award
  • DOOR, Vantan Game Academy – Award for Excellence
  • Paku Roll, International Information Engineer Automobile College – Award for Excellence
  • Pixmash, Hal Nagoya – Award for Excellence
  • Scarp Factory, ECC College of Computer and Multimedia – Honorable Mention
  • Twin Candles, Nihon Kogakuin College – Honorable Mention
  • Hesame Pivochan, ECC College of Computer and Multimedia – Honorable Mention
  • Pechantet, Hal Osaka – Honorable Mention

Future Division

  • City Shrouded in Shadow
  • Detroit: Become Human
  • Dissidia: Final Fantasy
  • Dragon Ball FighterZ
  • Dynasty Warriors 9
  • Fire Emblem Warriors
  • Loveplus Every
  • Monster Hunter: World
  • PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds
  • The Legend of Heroes: Sen No Kiseki III

The team that was responsible for Inside got the 2017 Game Designers award. The game got a lot of praise for the unique way of storytelling that was implemented in the game along with the unusual controls and atmosphere that made the game stand out from the rest.

Pokemon Go, after surprisingly becoming a overnight hit and then completely fading away, still managed to take home the 2017 The Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry Award. The award was given to it for the amount of hype it generated in such a short time.

For more news on everything related to games, stay tuned!